Letters to Juliet


Director: Gary Winick.

Cast Amanda Seyfried, Gael García Bernal, Daniel Baldock.

Renu’s Take: Perfect on a long flight 😉

Ask me what genre I enjoy, no matter what time of the day it is or where I am, and I will tell you, Romantic Comedy it is! Light, feel-good, and entertaining movies are my favorites. I watched this movie on my flight back to the US from my India trip, this movie is more of a drama than a comedy. For some reason, the movie felt like a déjà vu! The movie is about a young American wanna-be writer, Sophie who goes to Italy with her boyfriend. I really liked Gael García Bernal, who plays Victor, Sophie’s boyfriend. Opening scene, the minute you see him, you feel, this can’t be the guy! And through out the movie, he remains pretty successful in irritating you with his love for food, and you share Sophie’s helplessness! While Victor is busy cooking away in Italy, Sophie writes back to Claire, who wrote a letter 50 years ago to Juliet! For details, please watch the movie. 🙂 And then begin a cute little journey searching for a man named Lorenzo Bartolini.

The movie takes you to some beautiful places in Italy and Lorenzo Bartolini keeps you looking out for him until the very end! By the time the real guy makes an appearance, you are almost dying to know how he looks (alright, Boys, you may ignore this line!) The movie was a pleasure for me to kill time on that long, tiring flight! Okay, the ending was Clichéd, and everything was happy every after, but who cares?  Not too many details, not too dramatic, just long enough, and that was what mattered to me, then. This is not one of those movies that I would recommend you go hunting for, but if you happen to see it somewhere, you wouldn’t regret it!   After all, there has to something in between good and bad.

Leave a Reply

